R.S.W! Checking In: Week Eleven

Taken from Jaime Morrow: RSW

Taken from Jaime Morrow: RSW

It’s not like we have enough to do, right? Right. So we’ve decided to join the Ready. Set. Write! crew this summer and set some realistic goals for ourselves. If you wanna play along click on the link above to venture to Katie Upperman’s blog (one of the hosts along with Alison Miller, Jamie Morrow, Erin Funk, and Elodie Nowodazkij) and find all the deets about the summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting, accountability, and camaraderie.

The summer is going by SO fast! We can’t believe it’s already week 11’s check in. Here’s how we did 🙂

Pam’s Check In:

  1. Work on Awesome Agent’s notes for my YA thriller revision –>  DONE. Earlier this week, I had bouts of insomnia. However, the perk was that I was able to get my edits done. Boo to the yeah.
  2. Write at least 1500 words to the actual narrative of my WIP–>Okay, so the original YA I wanted to draft has been placed on the back burner because I had an “ah ha” moment for another YA thriller idea. And…I wrote a little over 1500 words of a first draft for it. So far, so good.
  3. Work out at least 3 times this week–> I did workout 3 times this week–and went running TWICE. My muscles don’t love me at the moment, but they will in the long run, right?

Quita’s Check In:

  1. FINISH my revisions on YWLH–> Cue the confetti peeps, I am DONE! Just sent the draft to my beta reader, too. Feels so GUD to get rid of it.
  2. Exercise at least three times–> Done & done! See Pam’s  # 3 🙂
  3. Write at least 1k on new historical WIP–>  Killed it! You guys, I am unstoppable.

Our Goals for the Week

Pam:

1.Write 2000 words for my YA WIP. I think my goal is to write at least 15,000 by the end of August. I’ll take it slow and steady initially, and then marathon the bleep out of it during the last stretch.

2. Since the school year begins in under 2 weeks, do at least 2 fun and/or relaxing things this week.

3. Read another book.

Quita:

1.Write another 2k of historical WIP

2. Do something for myself before I have to get back into the academic mindset

3. Read more of Learning Not to Drown by Anna Shinoda

One Word/Phrase that Encompasses What We Wrote/Revised:

Pam:

Breathe. I’m so used to being a plotter, but I’m trying out something I learned from Meg Wolitzer at the LA SCBWI conference. Basically, I’m throwing all caution to the wind and writing 80 pages with no outline of where the story’s going. This is new for me, so yes, I have to remind myself to breathe.

Quita:

Relieved! It feels amazing to have finished revisions on YWLH and be working on my historical WIP. FINALLY!

Biggest Challenge We Faced This Week:

Pam:

Summer-itis. The last days of summer are upon as, and my last year as a doc student is around the corner. Needless to say, my desire to lounge on the couch and sip coffee or chai tea has been trying to outweigh my productivity.

Quita:

Switching gears. It’s going to be hard to get into the world of my historical WIP and move away from my previous characters. However, I am so HAPPY to let that novel go for now.

Something We Love About our WIPs/Novels We’re Revising:

Pam:

Um, love is a strong word since this new YA WIP idea just snuck up on me. But so far, I’m heavily in “like” with my characters because they’re diverse and remind me of people I grew up with.

Quita:

I LOVE research and looking up photographs from the past. I’m excited to do that for this new draft.

Well, if we do say so ourselves, we kinda BEASTED our goals this week! What about you guys?

12 thoughts on “R.S.W! Checking In: Week Eleven

  1. Insomnia writing is the best! Okay, it’s actually the worst, but at least writing in the middle of the night is better than staring at the ceiling, right?

    I agree: you two crushed your goals this week. Working out, new WIPs, finishing drafts, woohoo! Keep beasting ish this week ladies!

    • Yeah, staring at the ceiling is NOT a good luck–but we saw a cool mug that says something like: I’m not staring, I’m not plotting. We needs to get our hands on that! Thanks so much for the kudos, Rebecca and we will definitely try to keep up the beasting-ness 🙂

  2. Pam: I’m a major insomniac too, which is why I started writing at night. Now I’m pretty much nocturnal lol. Glad you were able to use your sleepless hours to finish your edits! That’s a whole lot better than counting sheep, right? And yay for “ah ha” moments that turn into new projects! Good luck seeing where this new idea takes you!

    Quita: Yay! Throwing so much confetti for you right now! Congrats on finishing and I hope you get awesome beta feedback! Good luck switching gears and steeping yourself in the world of your historical WIP now. That’s got to be a huge challenge, but you can do it!

    • Thanks for the cheers, Erin! You are so inspiring w/ all of your kind words and encouraging feedback! We will try and keep them in mind as we endeavor through our new ideas. And, yes, Quita’s hoping to get awesome beta feedback–next step, querying!

  3. Okay, I LOVE that you two knocked your editing/revising goals out of the park, then dove right into new projects. I’m seriously inspired! Congrats on all you’ve accomplished so far this summer, and best of luck in these final weeks!

    • Thanks, Katy! I think we were trucking through the revisions just to get to new projects 🙂 We’ve had SNI brimming in our minds ALL summer so it feels good to get to work them–FINALLY! Good luck to you, too during the last days of summer!

  4. You certainly did beast those goals this week! Go you! Quita – congrats on finishing! That’s such an AMAZING feeling! And Pam – woohoo for SNIs that sneak up on you! Enjoy that new one!

    Hope you ladies have another awesome week!

Leave a Reply

