RSW! Week 3: Still Going Strong

Taken from Jaime Morrow: RSW

Taken from Jaime Morrow: RSW

It’s not like we have enough to do, right? Right. So we’ve decided to join the Ready. Set. Write! crew this summer and set some realistic goals for ourselves. If you wanna play along click on the link above to venture to Katie Upperman’s blog (one of the hosts along with Alison Miller, Jamie Morrow, Erin Funk, and Elodie Nowodazkij) and find all the deets about the summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting, accountability, and camaraderie.

We’ve been participating in Ready. Set. Write! for three weeks now and we’re STILL on the path of success. We know…we’re pretty shocked, too ;P Wondering how we’re doing? Wanna know what’s in store for us this week? Then keep reading, yo!

Pam’s Check In 

  1. How I did on the previous week’s goals:
    1. Begin reading the previous draft of my YA thriller–>I DID begin reading this…and I’m about a third of the way through.
    2. Create character sketches for my WIP–>I began using Jody Hedlund’s awesome character worksheet (which can be found here) to flesh out my main character. I’m learning so much about her!
    3. Complete strength training this week–>Hmm…Do you count Bollywood dancing? My arms certainly got a good workout from that!!

Quita’s Check In

  1. How I did on the previous week’s goals:
    1. Have a clear revision plan for YA contemp novel–>I’m getting there, peeps! I know the major plot points for the novel and I kinda know what I want to do with my MC to make her motivations more clear.
    2. Revise at least one scene of YOU WILL LOSE HIM–>I started the beginning of one scene. That counts. I’m not asking…I’m telling you it counts.
    3. Plot new WIP–> I realize that I didn’t put a measure on this goal, so having a general idea of what I want to write about is good enough for achieving this goal and I DO know what I’m writing about. I also have two scenes plotted. BOO YEAH!
    4. Work on my endurance–> I did this weird superhero quick workout and during it, the lady said one of the exercises “builds endurance.” Also, Bollywood dancing…any kind of dancing builds endurance, right?

2. Our Goals for the Week

Pam:

I’d like to finish reading my YA thriller, create a dent in reading Paper Towns (which shouldn’t be hard since I’ll be sitting on a LOT of airplanes next week), and leave the hotel room during my conference in Trinidad next week. Because, you know, I’ll be in TRINIDAD!!

Quita:

I want to read a good chunk of Catalyst by Laurie Halse Anderson, finish revising that scene I started this week, use that awesome character worksheet Pam found for my WIP, and do some site seeing with Pam in Trinidad.

3. One Word/Phrase that Encompasses What We Wrote/Revised:

Pam:

Impressed. I started reading my YA thriller with one eye closed, but was slightly surprised that it’s really not a bad draft at all. Distance definitely makes the heart grow fonder.

Quita:

Excited. At first, I did NOT want to do anything else to YOU WILL LOSE HIM because I was at a loss about what to do. Now that I have some constructive feedback, I’m genuinely excited to revise.

4. Biggest Challenge We Faced This Week:

Pam & Quita:

Once again, that dreaded monster TIME. Dealing with work and a family health scare ate away at our writing/reading/revising time.

5. Something We Love About our WIPs/Novels We’re Revising:

Pam:

My characters. I’m so used to writing from the male POV that it’s refreshing to know that I can write about strong females.

Quita:

Strong females, FTW! I love that my female MC is a star wrestler and that is the one thing that I’m not changing during revisions.

Okay, your go: how y’all doin’?

15 thoughts on “RSW! Week 3: Still Going Strong

  1. I love this whole format of the shared blog. 😀 So, Pam, Bollywood dancing? That sounds awesommmme!! I’ve always wanted to take classes, and I think it definitely counts toward strength training. And, Quita, I 100% know that feeling of looking at a MS and knowing you need to change stuff but just having absolutely no idea where to start. Getting feedback can be such a relief! Good luck to both of you ladies with your goals this week!! Also, enjoy Trinidad!!!

    • We LOVE Bollywood dancing for exercise. Any kind of dancing, actually. Gotta keep it fun. And YAAS, getting feedback (especially the kind that gives you something GUD to work with) is the best! Thanks, Courtney!

  2. Sounds like you both had a pretty great week on the goals front. Lots of great progress. 🙂 I love your summary words: Excited and Impressed. Those are some great things to be feeling when approaching your WiP. Hope this is another awesome week!

    • Thanks, Jaime…we’re trying to stay positive. It’s SO odd for us but we have a friend who is all about positive vibes and we’re taking a lil’ bit of her mojo this week 🙂

  3. I also do a Bollywood dance fitness class–it’s called BollyX and mixes Zumba with more Bollywood-esque music. The class is a Friday evening when the gym is dead, but the class is packed. I love it! Mondays are my other dance fitness class. I have to do fun fitness or I hate it 🙂

    • BollyX sounds amazing! We need to find a fitness class around us that offers this type of exercise. It would defintely keep us motivated, also. We have to fun things with our fitness or we’ll totally fall off, too! Thanks for responding.

  4. Yes, Bollywood definitely counts! I used to do Belly dancing and man my core was all kinds of strong! Hope you two continue to have great success on meeting your goals!

  5. Oh there is so much to love and comment on here! First, I would LOVE to take Bollywood dancing! I’ve only seen it on So You Think You Can Dance but I would love to try it! I am sure there’s quite the workout there. Also, yay for still loving those stories and those strong female characters! Hope you guys have another great week!

    • Strong female characters are so awesome, right? Maybe we should write a story with a strong female character who TEACHES a Bollywood dancing course 😉 Thanks, Allison!

  6. Sounds like you two are doing a fantastic job on meeting your goals. What kind of conference are you going to in Trinidad? Will you report back about the conference? Safe travels!

    • Pam is presenting at a school counseling conference in Trinidad 🙂 Nothing writing related sad to say…HOWEVER we will have lots of pics for you guys (hopefully) and maybe some tales to share as well…Thanks for commenting!

  7. Bollywood dancing? Sounds like a lot of fun. And a trip to Trinadad…

    *stuffs envy monster in closet, backs against door to hold it closed tight*

    *looks around… whistles softly* “Nope, nothing to see here.”

    Good luck on your presentation, Pam. Even if it’s not writing-related, I bet you will be able to find a way to fit it into a story someday. 😀

    What a cool idea for a female MC! And why not?

    • Ha ha! Thanks for that Eden- we always need a good laugh 🙂 And we’re DEFINITELY looking forward to the trip- great point about writing material, btw! We will share pics from the trip & anything cool we learn. Thanks for the comment & good luck with your goals this week.

Leave a Reply

