Ready. Set. Write! Week 2– Progress & Success??

Ready. Set. Write! Summer 2015

It’s not like we have enough to do, right? Right. So we’ve decided to join the Ready. Set. Write! crew this summer and set some realistic goals for ourselves. If you wanna play along click on the link above to venture to Katie Upperman’s blog (one of the hosts along with Alison Miller, Jamie Morrow, Erin Funk, and Elodie Nowodazkij) and find all the deets about the summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting, accountability, and camaraderie.

Last week was the start of Ready. Set. Write! and we set a few goals to get us on a path toward all things writing, reading, and self-care-ing (???). So, how did we do? And what are our NEW goals? Well, ch-ch-check it out!

Pam’s Check In 

  1. How I did on the previous week’s goals:
    1. Finish revisions on my YA thriller–>I have not even begun my revisions yet. HOWEVER, I did manage to finish another writing project this past week.
    2. Write at least 15k words of a new WIP–>See response to goal numero uno. So even though I did not get started on THIS particular project, I still got my creative writing fix.
    3. Read at least 5 books–>Alas, I have not had time to pick up a book this week. I know–the horror! However, I finished All the Rage by Courtney Summers two weeks ago (which was, of course, brilliant), and have my eye on Paper Towns by John Green next. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf FOREVER, so with the movie coming out, I figured now was the perfect time to crack it open.
    4. Exercise 3-4 times a week (including running)–>This week, I tackled ab work, leg work, and dancing. Alas, no running since we’ve been having a heat index of 100 in VA. Blah.
    5. Do something fun for myself at least ONCE each weekend–>If by “fun” you mean begin binge watching Orange is the New Black then BOOM, nailed it.

Quita’s Check In

  1. How I did on the previous week’s goals:
    1. Work on revisions of YA contemp novel–>I was able to begin a smidgeon of revisions (one page counts, right?). I won’t keep it, but it was something.
    2. Plot/ begin writing at least 10k of new WIP–>Yeah, nothing happened there, either. But I swear, I thought about it!
    3. Read 4-5 books–> I finished Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver about two weeks ago and that was amazing. If you haven’t read it, ya need to. Oh, and I’m beta reading…does that count?
    4. Less work, more play on the weekends–> As Pam mentioned, OINTB, BABY!!!
    5. Exercise at least 3xs a week–> Again, same as Pam’s. Exercise was on fleek this week!

2. Our Goals for the Week

Pam:

I’d love to begin reading the former draft of my YA thriller, create character sketches for my WIP, and do some strength training this week.

Quita:

I want to have a clear revision plan for YOU WILL LOSE HIM by the end of the week and also revise at least one scene. I’d also like to plot for my WIP and work on my endurance.

3. One Word/Phrase that Encompasses What We Wrote/Revised:

Pam:

Again, though I didn’t write anything related to my goals, for what I DID write I’d say: Fun. 🙂

Quita:

For the little bit that I did revise (and my thoughts so far about the novel) I’d have to go with: Fragmented.

4. Biggest Challenge We Faced This Week:

Pam:

TIME. I had a lot of work commitments this past week, so that’s why it was so difficult to read for pleasure, as well as get started on my actual writing goals.

Quita:

Of course, I have to agree: Time. There’s never enough. I was in two classes (one just ended–WOO HOO!) and I had to finish up several assignments which made it hard to focus on reading & writing.

5. Something We Love About our WIPs/Novels We’re Revising:

Pam:

Since I haven’t been able to get started on revisions or a new draft, I’d say everything (mainly because I haven’t had time to start hating anything yet) ;p

Quita:

I would say that I still can’t shake the characters and I want to tell their story…even after three or years of drafting & revisions.

What about you all: how y’all doin’?

23 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Week 2– Progress & Success??

  1. I also got sidetracked by an older project, but it was writing that got done, so hey. Here’s to hoping those new/current projects get some attention.
    And for some reason my household has not watched any of Orange is the new Black. And we watch Netflix ALL THE TIME (mostly it’s my hubz watching anime). Now that we are mostly caught up with DVR stuff and we dropped a few shows, I think we can try some new ones this summer.

  2. I can totally relate to Quita’s goal to come up with a “clear revision plan”. That’s where I’m at this week. Here’s hoping we can both do that! And Pam, you’ve just reminded me that I need to revisit my character sketches for my characters and beef them up a little. Hope you both have a very productive week! 🙂

    • Yes, Jaime! Character sketches are great- I think we all need to work on those. And ANY kind of plan gets us excited 😉 Good luck on all things writer-ly & otherwise this week!

  3. You girls are doing awesome, and you’re making me want to watch OITNB. I’ve heard it’s fantastic! Best of luck to both of you with your goals in the coming week!

  4. All these awesome updates motivates me to exercise. I wish I could write and run at the same time. And not on a treadmill desk as I don’t have that. Good luck!

    • Writing & running at the same time would be the BEST! Good luck in figuring that out & let us know if you do…until then good luck with the rest of your goals this week 🙂

  5. Great job on your goals! I’ve been putting off OITNB because I have a feeling ALL writing will cease until it’s finished. Hope this week goes well for you!

  6. Pam: Great job on finishing another writing project this week! I’m planning on reading PAPER TOWNS in the next while as well, hopefully before the movie hits theaters.

    Quita: A smidgen of revisions is still a good start! And sometimes mulling over a project is smart before diving in. I do that a lot.

    Good luck with next week’s goals, ladies! 🙂

  7. Ooooh fun and fragmented project descriptions? I’m sold both ways. And I’m totally with you girls on wanting more time. I could use like 3 more hours every day. (Well, maybe 6. 3 for waking hours, 3 for sleep ha) (Oh and an entire extra day so I could have a moment to watch the new season of OITNB!)

  8. Time is my issue ALWAYS. There seriously needs to be an extra few hours in the day. 🙂 But man, great job to both of you on what you accomplished with all that’s going on. And now you are definitely making me want to binge watch OITNB!

    Hope next week is a great one for both of you!

  9. I hear ya on the time thing. Work always seems to steal so much of mine. Pam, I love that stage when you have a vision of a book and it’s basically perfect because it’s in your mind. 🙂 Quita, I feel like the best books have strong characters, so it’s great that yours have stuck with you for so long.

    Best of luck hitting this week’s goals, ladies!

  10. I love how you both are helping each other stay (somewhat…mostly) on track.

    Pam, yay for finishing a project (any project, even if it wasn’t the one you planned on… that’s still a big thing). I also love how you’re still in the “I love it all” phase. Hopefully you can keep that enthusiasm for a while into the icky-bits.

    Quita… ‘fragmented’ sounds like you’ve been fighting yourself some. Don’t beat yourself up for it. You have all summer (and longer) to make it happen.

    • Eden! You are amazing 🙂 Thanks for all the words of encouragement! We appreciate your positivity! Good luck to you this week and keep up the positive outlook on all things writerly 😉

Leave a Reply

