Little Known YA Wonders: Paranoid Park

Reading Song of the Day: “Runaway” Kanye West featuring Pusha T (The Clipse)
Pam did a recent post about not believing hype surrounding YA books and that got us thinking about lesser known/praised YA books. So, we wanted to do our part and highlight some of the fabulous young adult books that we don’t often hear about.
This week I am going to introduce you to Blake Nelson and his extraordinary novel, Paranoid Park.

You may remember that I chose this as my fave book of the month one time for YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday. I gave a quick synopsis of the book during the above mentioned post but I didn’t get to love on it as much as I wanted to. Now that I have your attention my love fest will begin!

Paranoid Park starts off from a young male’s POV. The male (who is an avid skateboarder) writes in a journal/diary format with the date placed before each section (in the end we find out there’s a reason for this format). He lets the reader know that something awful has happened right away and then proceeds to recount the event and the days after. I wish I could give you spoilers– but you need to read this yourself. Basically, a tragedy occurs and the young male struggles with whether to tell what has happened or keep it all inside. And of course this tragedy is just a notch on his belt of teenaged troubles. He has his fellow skateboard loving friends to answer to as well as a girlfriend who feels that he isn’t being “boyfriend-y” enough. And to top it all off the girl who he grew up with is starting to become more interesting.

Blake Nelson’s (he has a goodreads account people!) writing is so engaging and authentic. The reader really gets inside of the head of the main character. I loved it so much that I quickly purchased two more of his novels Rock Star Superstar and The New Rules of High School, and I plan to get more- including an ARC for his newest novel- Recovery Road written in a girl’s POV.

Visit these sites to get more info on Blake Nelson and Paranoid Park (as well as his other books):

http://blakenelsonteennovelist.blogspot.com/
http://www.blakenelsonbooks.com/

BTW…Paranoid Park was also made into a movie directed by Gus Van Sant- I’ve yet to see it. Off to add it to my Netflix Queue. What do you think about our new series? Do you have any YA Wonders of your own??

One thought on “Little Known YA Wonders: Paranoid Park

Leave a Reply

